Posted by: newquest Post Date: 18 March 2020

PT NewQuest Geotechnology has completed the Pre-Feasibility Study (Pre-FS) project for 3 Geothermal Working Area (WKP) owned by the state-owned electricity company PLN. They are Atadei (East Nusa Tenggara), Songa Wayaua (North Maluku), and Tangkuban Parahu (West Java). The signing of the contract between PT NewQuest Geotechnology and PT PLN (Persero) was carried out in mid-2018 and ended with the submission of the final report in December 2019.

WKP Atadei, Lembata Island, East Nusa Tenggara

Pre-Feasibility Study is a further exploration in the stages of geothermal energy development. The survey consisted of geological, geochemical and geophysical surveys. The stage aims to identify in more detail about subsurface conditions, conduct potential assessments, and drilling recommendations. From the results of detailed exploration can be better known about the distribution of rocks, geological structures, the geometry of geothermal reserves, hydrology, geothermal systems, reservoir temperatures, resource potential and electrical potential.

Operations Manager of PT NewQuest Geotechnology, Surya Aji Pratama said that in the Pre-FS 3 WKP various methods were applied. The geological methods used are remote sensing, XRD, and volcanostratigraphy. While the geochemical method is a sampling method which is then performed isotope analysis, water and gas analysis. Whereas the geophysical method is MT-TDEM, gravity, magnetic, and MEQ.

“In addition to various methods carried out in geological, geochemical and geophysical surveys, we also applied reservoir simulations for potential assessments and find out more detailed subsurface conditions at the PLN’s 3 WKP,” Surya said.

WKP Songa Wayaua, Bacan Island, North Maluku

With the development of this 3 WKP, it is expected that the electrification ratio will increase, especially in remote areas in eastern Indonesia. Two of the three WKP in the Pre-FS project are located in Eastern Indonesia, namely Atadei on Lembata Island, East Nusa Tenggara Province and Songa Wayaua on Bacan Island, North Maluku Province.

WKP Tangkuban Parahu, West Java

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *